Dog Photo 2

Adoptions Today

companions Tomorrow

Birthday Parties

About CNHS

The Central Nebraska Humane Society (CNHS) was established in 1966, by volunteers dedicated to the welfare of animals in the community. CNHS is located in the northeast corner of Grand Island, Nebraska. Annually, over 2,500 animals are handled. The organization is staffed with dedicated, compassionate and trained employees. We also have volunteers that assist and enjoy a wide range of involvement from helping with special care needs, fostering, promotional events and educational programs. The Central Nebraska Humane Society is governed by a Board of Directors, which establishes the policies, operation guidelines and raises funds for the organization.


In 2006, with the financial support of the area, a Capital Campaign was completed raising 1.5 million dollars for a new facility. The 15,000 square foot building was completed in July of 2007, tripling the capacity to care for animals in need. The facility provides 30 adoptable dog kennels, a small dog and puppy room capable of showcasing 15 adoptable pets, five Get Acquainted rooms, a large meeting room for exercising dogs or hosting meetings or other activities, two large cat and kitten play rooms and 25 adoptable cat kennels. Other areas include a medical room with grooming equipment, kitten nursery, and kennels for lost dogs and cats. On the grounds are a pet cemetery, an off leash exercise pen, and outdoor exercise areas for dogs to enjoy being outside everyday.This support makes the Central Nebraska Humane Society the largest non-profit 501(c)3 organization in central Nebraska providing for the well-being and adoption of pets.


CNHS maintains a leading role in the sheltering of lost and homeless animals, in educating on the humane care and treatment of animals, by advocating for animal welfare, and working to further the bond between people and animals. Pet adoptions and returning pets to their owners have steadily increased. Since 2010, annually, adoptions have been over 1,000 with pets finding forever homes. The number of animals being returned to their homes are over 700.


The Central Nebraska Humane Society is also contracted with the City of Grand Island and Hall County to provide Animal Control to those jurisdictions. Both the CNHS and Animal Control work with other communities, counties and agencies in Nebraska on animal issues on a case by case basis.


Our website and Facebook pages provide communication to the public with information such as pets available for adoptions, needed information and upcoming events. Friend us on Facebook or sign up for our newsletter, we'd love to have you!


Our Mission Statement

The purpose of the Central Nebraska Humane Society is to promote the adoption of rescued, abandoned, abused or neglected animals into safe, lifelong homes.


Meet our Staff

Central Nebraska Humane Society Staff


Executive Director:

Chasity Cross



Angus T. Loner


Development Director:

Kendrick Clay


Finance Director:

Tracy Bleier



Administrative Assistant / Marketing:

Chrissy Garton



Shelter Manager:

Maggie Cates


Medical Team:


Dr. Brad Adrian


Vet Assistants:

Emily B.

Jessica L.


Adoption Team:

Adoption Specialists:

Cristina M.

Kari S.

Nick V.

Jeremy F.

Keisha C.


Animal Care Team:

Feline Care:

Amanda B.

Amber G.

Jessica M.

LeAnn P.

Luci S.


Canine Care:

Seth B.

Adryan, D

Candy F.

Natalie M.

Joshua P.

Devin M.


Animal Control Authority Staff

Animal Control Authority Officers:

Rose K. - Lead ACO

Kayla B.

Keisha C.


Board of Directors



Tanya Hansen


Vice President:

Tiffany Reinders


Second Vice President:

Penny Muirhead



Megan Wichman



Ashley Ambrose

Alicia Jonak

Chris Shenk

Christine Schager

Doug Cramer

Jay Gnuse

Jeanne Simons

Jeff Berggren

Jeff Leep

Jeff Vinson

Jennifer Barker

Keith Mingus

Leah Paulsen

Martha Gordon

Michelle Nelson

Mike Peterson

Ryan Boesen

Sarah Bockoven

Teresa Wayne

Tim McMullen